A total of 37 economies in Asia and the Pacific are classified either as least developed countries (LDCs), landlocked developing countries (LLDCs) and small island developing States (SIDS). Collectively referred to as countries with special needs, these countries are home to more than 400 million people, a quarter of the total population of the Asia-Pacific developing countries, excluding China and India. Their economies are marked by persistent structural development challenges, fluctuating economic growth and heavy dependence on a limited number of commodities or low-wage manufactured products for export earnings. The Asia-Pacific Countries with Special Needs Development Report 2022 focuses on the financing gaps these countries face to support a sustainable recovery from the COVID-19 pandemic and examines policy options and cooperation needs, especially regarding specific challenges and opportunities for attaining the Sustainable Development Goals, heightened risks posed by climate emergencies and declining capital flows in the forms of foreign direct investment (FDI), official development assistance (ODA), remittances and receipts from tourism.

-contentType:Journal -contentType:Contributor -contentType:Concept -contentType:Institution
This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error