Regional economic and social activities

In 2015, the five UN regional commissions of the Economic and Social Council—the Economic Commission for Africa (eca), the Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (escap), the Economic Commission for Europe (ece), the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (eclac) and the Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia (escwa)—continued to provide technical cooperation and advisory services to Member States, promote programmes and projects and provide training to enhance national capacitybuilding. Three of them—eca, ece and escap—held regular sessions during the year, while eclac and escwa did not meet in 2015. The Executive Secretaries of the Commissions continued to hold periodic meetings to exchange views and coordinate activities and positions on major development issues, including in relation to the three landmark multilateral agreements that were concluded in 2015—the Addis Ababa Action Agenda, adopted in July; the sustainable development goals, adopted in September; and the Paris Agreement, adopted in December.

Sustainable Development Goals:
-contentType:Journal -contentType:Contributor -contentType:Concept -contentType:Institution
This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error