The European Union

The year 2004 saw the European Union (EU) swell from 15 to 25 Member States with the entry of ten countries from Eastern and Southern Europe (Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia). Accession on such a large scale was a first in Europe and cannot be compared with the successive waves of accession to the European Community, such as that of Greece in 1981, Portugal and Spain in 1986, or Austria, Finland and Sweden in 1995. Nearly 75 million people joined the EU in 2004, swelling its population by 20% (Table 1). The 115,000 additional researchers will need to integrate the European Research Area; this area remains a shared goal of all Member States, even if it is not yet a reality.

Sustainable Development Goals:
-contentType:Journal -contentType:Contributor -contentType:Concept -contentType:Institution
This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error