In the 30 years since the adoption of the Lagos Plan of Action, African market integration processes have seen important advances. Important progress has been attained in four of the eight RECs forming the pillars of the Africa Economic Community, namely ECOWAS, COMESA, EAC and SADC – these groupings have achieved a measure of free trade and started implementation of customs union programmes. Progress has been slow or partial in UMA and ECCAS. In the two relatively new RECs – CEN-SAD and IGAD – market integration programmes have yet to be adopted and implemented.

Related Subject(s): International Trade and Finance
Sustainable Development Goals:
-contentType:Journal -contentType:Contributor -contentType:Concept -contentType:Institution
This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error