International tribunals

In 1995, two international criminal tribunals established to prosecute persons responsible for serious violations of international humanitarian law—one concerning acts committed in the territory of the former Yugoslavia, the other for Rwanda and neighbouring States—began operations. The International Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia issued indictments against 46 individuals and began trial proceedings in one case. Following the election of trial judges, the International Tribunal for Rwanda held an inaugural session at The Hague, Netherlands, and subsequently issued its first indictments. Justice Richard J. Goldstone of South Africa served as Prosecutor for both Tribunals. In February 1995, the Security Council determined that the seat of the Rwanda Tribunal should be in Arusha, United Republic of Tanzania.

Related Subject(s): United Nations
-contentType:Journal -contentType:Contributor -contentType:Concept -contentType:Institution
This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error