Law of the sea

During 1999, the United Nations continued to promote the universal acceptance of the 1982 United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea and the two related Agreements. The three institutions created by the Convention—the International Seabed Authority, the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea and the Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf—held sessions in 1999. The Council of the Authority completed the first reading of a draft seabed mining code; the Tribunal was concerned with two cases; and the Commission considered data and other material submitted by coastal States concerning the outer limits of the continental shelf where those limits extended beyond 200 nautical miles.

Related Subject(s): United Nations
-contentType:Journal -contentType:Contributor -contentType:Concept -contentType:Institution
This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error