Disarmament: A Basic Guide

Second Edition

image of Disarmament: A Basic Guide

International peace and security - and therefore disarmament - stand at the core of the UN mandate. This publication is designed to inform, educate and generate public understanding of the importance of multilateral action, and to rally support for it, in the field of arms limitation and disarmament. Intended primarily for the general reader, this basic guide may also be useful for the disarmament educator or trainer. It is published by the United Nations Office for Disarmament Affairs in collaboration with the NGO (non-governmental organizations) Committee on Disarmament, Peace and Security pursuant to the purposes of the United Nations Disarmament Information Programme.



The nuclear non-proliferation treaty

THE NUCLEAR NON-PROLIFERATION TREATY (NPT), a cornerstone agreement in efforts to regulate nuclear weapons globally, entered into force in 1970. 190 countries have joined the Treaty, including the five States recognised under the Treaty as possessing nuclear weapons: China, France, the Russian Federation, the United Kingdom and the United States. Three countries, which have or are suspected of having nuclear weapons programmes, are currently outside the NPT: India, Israel and Pakistan. The Democratic People’s Republic of Korea announced its withdrawal from the Treaty in 2003 and its legal status in the Treaty remains uncertain.


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error