Disarmament: A Basic Guide

Third Edition

image of Disarmament: A Basic Guide

International peace and security - and therefore disarmament - stand at the core of the UN mandate. This publication is designed to inform, educate and generate public understanding of the importance of multilateral action, and to rally support for it, in the field of arms limitation and disarmament. Intended primarily for the general reader, this basic guide may also be useful for the disarmament educator or trainer. It is published by the United Nations Office for Disarmament Affairs in collaboration with the NGO (non-governmental organizations) Committee on Disarmament, Peace and Security pursuant to the purposes of the United Nations Disarmament Information Programme.

English French, Spanish


Nuclear non-proliferation treaty

The treaty on the non-proliferation of nuclear weapons (npt), a cornerstone agreement in efforts to constrain the spread of nuclear weapons globally and to achieve nuclear disarmament, entered into force in 1970. The Treaty has 190 States parties, including the five States recognized under the Treaty as possessing nuclear weapons: China, France, the Russian Federation, the United Kingdom and the United States. Three countries that have or are suspected of having nuclear weapons are currently outside the NPT: India, Israel and Pakistan. The Democratic People’s Republic of Korea announced its withdrawal from the Treaty in 2003.

English Spanish, French

This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error