Disarmament: A Basic Guide

Fourth Edition

image of Disarmament: A Basic Guide

Conceived as a comprehensive introduction to a field central to the work of the United Nations, Disarmament: A Basic Guide aims to provide a useful overview of the nuanced challenges of building a more peaceful world in the twenty-first century. It was written with the general reader in mind and it strives to be accessible without downplaying the complexity of the issues it explores. This fourth edition includes updated figures, tables and treaty statuses; new analysis of the key developments since 2012; discussion of two recently agreed legal instruments, the Arms Trade Treaty and the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons; and a new chapter on emerging threats from cyber weaponry, unmanned combat aerial vehicles and lethal autonomous weapons systems.



Treaty on the non-proliferation of nuclear weapons

The Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT), the cornerstone agreement in efforts to constrain the spread of nuclear weapons globally and to achieve nuclear disarmament, entered into force in 1970. One hundred and ninety-one States have joined the NPT, including the five States recognized under the Treaty as possessing nuclear weapons: China, France, the Russian Federation, the United Kingdom and the United States. Three countries that have or are suspected of having nuclear weapons are currently outside the NPT: India, Israel and Pakistan. The Democratic People’s Republic of Korea announced its withdrawal from the Treaty in 2003.


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error