United Nations Disarmament Yearbook 1980

image of United Nations Disarmament Yearbook 1980
The volume 5 compiles the disarmament resolutions and decisions of the General Assembly, the voting patterns in the General Assembly and the First Committee report and dates of their adoption.



The second review conference of the parties to the treaty on the non-proliferation of Nuclear Weapons

The Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons, commonly referred to as the non-proliferation Treaty, entered into force on 5 March 1970. It has since been the fundamental instrument to avert the danger of the proliferation of nuclear weapons and the basis of measures that have, over the years, led to the emergence of a widespread international nonproliferation regime. In that context, it was important that the first Review Conference of the Parties to the Treaty, in 1975, after four weeks of intensive deliberations, adopted, by consensus, a Final Declaration reaffirming, inter alia, the parties’ common interest in averting the further proliferation of nuclear weapons and in that context their strong support for the Treaty and continued dedication to its principles and objectives. By mid-1980, 10 years after the entry into force of the Treaty, the number of States parties to it had reached 114. That number includes three nuclear-weapon States: the Soviet Union, the United Kingdom and the United States.


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error