United Nations Disarmament Yearbook 1990

image of United Nations Disarmament Yearbook 1990
The volume 15 compiles the disarmament resolutions and decisions of the forty-fifth session of the General Assembly, the voting patterns in the General Assembly and the First Committee report and dates of their adoption. It summarizes developments and trends in 1990 on key issues of multilateral consideration at the international and regional levels. Reviews the activity of the forty-fifth session of the General Assembly, the Conference on Disarmament and the Disarmament Commission. Contains a timeline that highlights events in multilateral disarmament in 1990.



The fourth review conference of the parties to the treaty on the non-proliferation of nuclear weapons

The Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons, commonly referred to as the non-proliferation Treaty or NPT, entered into force on 5 March 1970. It is considered to be one of the first major arms control agreements of the post-war era and a fundamental instrument for preventing the spread of nuclear weapons and promoting the use of nuclear energy for peaceful purposes. It is the legislative authority underlying a global international non-proliferation règime that itself is underpinned by the safeguards system of IAEA. Prior to 1990, under article VIII of the Treaty, three conferences to review its operation were held: in 1975, 1980 and 1985.


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error