Assessment of Development Results - Pacific Island Countries

image of Assessment of Development Results - Pacific Island Countries

This report presents an independent regional evaluation conducted by the UNDP Evaluation Office in 2010. The evaluation examines the strategic relevance and positioning of UNDP support, and its contribution to the development of Pacific Island Countries (PICs) including 14 PICs scattered all over the Pacific Ocean. The report is the first independent country-level evaluation conducted by the Evaluation Office of the United Nations Development Programme in the Pacific Island Countries (PICs).



Subregional development context

The Pacific Subregion, spanning approximately 6,000 miles across the Pacific Ocean from the east to west, is composed of 22 small island countries and territories, of which 14 are covered by UNDP programmes. The coverage excludes the American Samoa, French Polynesia, Guam, New Caledonia, Northern Mariana Islands, Pitcairn, and Wallis and Futuna. The countries and territories are also classified in three different clusters: Polynesia (Cook Islands, Niue, Samoa, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu), Melanesia (Fiji, Solomon Islands, Vanuatu), and Micronesia (Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, F.S. Micronesia, Palau). The subregion is geographically vast and culturally and ecologically diverse. Each one of the countries/ territories has its own character and particularities. They have varying land size, population, natural resource endowments, economy, income levels, cultures, physical attributes, colonial heritages, languages, degrees of social cohesion, and economic and social policies. While the region has a mix of middle income and Least Developed Countries (LDCs), it also reflects a wide variability in human development terms.


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error