Economic and Social Survey of Asia and the Far East 1955

image of Economic and Social Survey of Asia and the Far East 1955

This latest edition of the Survey analyzes current economic and social developments in the region against the background of events in the world economy. It also focuses on the serios problems of growth and transformation of the area's least developed and Pacific Island developing economies.



Malaya and British Borneo

Although the Malaya and British Borneo area presents political and economic variety, the five territories possess certain similarities which spring from the common inspiration of their administration, from the source and nature of their capital supply, and from their dependence, with the exception of Singapore, upon income from primary exports. The differences are equally obvious. Politically, the area comprises three British Crown Colonies—North Borneo, Sarawak, and Singapore—and two British-protected territories—the State of Brunei and the Federation of Malaya; new constitutional developments in the Federation of Malaya and the colony of Singapore have, however, brought about a higher degree of self-government in these territories. Each of these entities has its own peculiar economic characteristics and problems— North Borneo attempting development with its labour shortage and its limited funds; Brunei with its wealth in oil attempting to define the optimum pace and limit of development; Sarawak achieving a certain diversification in agricultural production but urgently requiring development of its interior; the Federation of Malaya with its continuing dependence upon rubber and tin; and Singapore, the entrepot binding the area together with its port facilities and its complex of agency houses and financial institutions.


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error