The Asia-Pacific Trade Agreement

Promoting South-South Regional Integration and Sustainable Development

image of The Asia-Pacific Trade Agreement

International trade has been placed prominently into the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, adopted in September 2015, as an engine for economic growth and development. There are at least 20 targets across different SDGs that are related to international trade. These targets relate to both multilateral and regional frameworks of trade rules and trade as economic activity. These are also closely linked with capacity of trade to be a driver of transformative changes which are of critical importance for developing and least developed countries. The Asia-Pacific Trade Agreement (APTA) is one of the oldest preferential trade agreements (PTA) in the region (signed in 1975 as the Bangkok Agreement) and is open for membership to all the developing countries in the ESCAP region. This book analyses how APTA can promote South-South trade and investment as well as help in meeting SDGs. This book will be useful for the policy makers as well as researchers in understanding how RTAs can be used as a tool for development.



The Central Asian Republics

Regional economic integration has gained prominence in recent years as a mechanism to achieve various objectives such as market access, enhancement of manufacturing capabilities, the creation of regional value chains (RVCs) and, in turn, employment generation and poverty alleviation. In addition, the recent initiatives created by the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) and the Trans-Atlantic Trade and Investment Partnership (TTIP) seek not only to take advantage of Asian economic dynamism but also to consolidate the leading economic forces of the United States of America and the European Union. This is corroborated by the fact that while TPP members include the dynamic Asian economies, the TTIP is an attempt to consolidate the economic might of the Western world by forging partnership agreements between the United States and the European Union. The European Union and Central Asia relations have been progressing under the Strategy for a New Partnership since 2007. The Customs Union (CU) and the Single Economic Space (SES) among Belarus, Kazakhstan and the Russian Federation were replaced by the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU), which came into effect on 1 January 2015. The EAEU comprises Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and the Russian Federation.


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error