The Least Developed Countries Report 2006

Developing Productive Capacities

image of The Least Developed Countries Report 2006

The Least Developed Countries are a group of 50 countries which have been identified as “least developed” in terms of their low GDP per capita, their weak human assets and their high degree of economic vulnerability. The 2006 Report focuses on the development of productive capacities for sustainable pro-poor economic growth strategies and an analysis of the progress made on some of the quantified targets of the Programme of Action agreed during the Third UN Conference on the Least Developed Countries.

English Spanish, French


Progress towards UNLDC III development targets

In May 2001, a new Programme of Action for the Least Developed Countries for the Decade 2001–2010 (POA) was agreed at the Third United Nations Conference on the Least Developed Countries (UNLDC III). The Programme of Action is intended as “a framework for a strong global partnership to accelerate sustained economic growth and sustainable development in LDCs, to end marginalization by eradicating poverty, inequality and deprivation in these countries, and to enable them to integrate beneficially into the global economy” (United Nations, 2001: para. 4). Partnership is founded on mutual commitments by LDCs and their development partners to undertake concrete actions in seven areas.

English French, Spanish

This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error