Asia-Pacific Trade and Investment Report 2013

Turning the Tide - Towards Inclusive Trade and Investment

image of Asia-Pacific Trade and Investment Report 2013
The main message of the Report is that the region's dominant export-led growth model should not be abandoned but does need some adjustment. While regional economies have largely succeeded in achieving sustained economic growth, additional policies are required to spread the benefits of that growth more fairly: to reduce poverty, limit rises in inequality, widen access to productive opportunities and bring excluded groups in from the margins. It is not enough simply to hope that rising wealth will eventually work for the benefit of all. The era of trade and invest now, distribute gains later has thus come to its end; we need to promote inclusive trade and investment.




Asia-Pacific Trade and Investment Report 2013 (APTIR 2013) was prepared under the substantive direction and guidance of Ravi Ratnayake, Director, Trade and Investment Division (TID) of the Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific. The core team of authors led by Mia Mikic, comprised (in alphabetical order) Witada Anukoonwatt aka, Yann Duval, Adam Heal, Khan Salehin, Marc Proksch, Rajan Ratna, and Heini Salonen of TID. Martina Ferracane and Johannes Fritz were key contributors to chapters 5 and 9, respectively, while Teemu Alexander Puutio and Martin Wermelinger contributed substantive inputs to and commented on several chapters. The papers prepared as background studies are available as Trade and Investment Working Papers at www.unescap.org/tid. Masato Abe, Joong-Wan Cho, Jun Ho Shin and Tengfei Wang of TID contributed by providing useful comments on a concept note or some inputs for the Report. The following research assistants of the Asia-Pacific Research and Training Network on Trade (ARTNeT) and TID interns contributed to the Report through the compilation and tabulation of statistical data and preparation of country trade briefs, referencing, and background material: Panit Buranawijarn, Carissa Faulkner, Theo-Phil Glockner, Simi Rose George, Sang-Ok Han, Ruben Hernandez, Fiona Jing Huang, Sarah Huelser, Danbee Kim, Cherry Law, Zhou Lu, Lorenzo Mancini, Mary Matt hews, Yumiko Noguchi, Janika Rath, Aaron Soans, McKenzie Strobach, Alda Tsang, Chorthip Utoktham, Yue Wang and Hua Yu.


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error