Export Quality Management

A Guide for Small and Medium-Sized Exporters - Second Edition

image of Export Quality Management

This publication seeks to provide small- and medium-sized exporters in developing countries and transition economies with a comprehensive understanding of crucial quality-related issues linked to the quality infrastructure. Structured in a question and answer format, the book answers 95 frequently asked questions by exporters about quality, technical requirements (standards, technical regulations, sanitary and phytosanitary measures), management systems, conformity assessment (testing, inspection, certification), metrology, accreditation, and the WTO Agreements on Technical Barriers to Trade and the Application of Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures.

English Spanish, French


What are national quality awards? Are they relevant for SMEs?

National quality awards (NQA) play an important role in promoting and rewarding excellence in organizational performance. In the short history of the development of NQAs, three awards have played a key role. They are the Deming Prize (Japan, 1951), the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award (United States, 1987) and the EFQM (European Foundation for Quality Management) Excellence Award (Europe, 1992). Many countries have modelled theiraward programmes on these three awards.

English Spanish, French

This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error