EU Enlargement and Turkish Labour Migration

image of EU Enlargement and Turkish Labour Migration
This book provides an accessible and comprehensive evaluation of labour migration in general and Turkish labour migration to the European Union in particular, while focusing on critical issues and policies relating to economic, demographic, political and social implications of the EU Eastern enlargement.




On 1 May 2004, the European Union (EU) reached the end of a long process of enlargements that extended membership to eight new Central and East European countries (CEECs) – Hungary, Poland, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Slovenia, Slovakia, Latvia and Lithuania – plus Cyprus and Malta. Two more countries, Romania and Bulgaria, joined the EU on 1 July 2007. These Central and East European countries are referred to as the CEEC-10, even though they in fact exhibit considerable heterogeneity. The EU guarantees the free movement of workers to all its citizens and eventually to the citizens of the accession countries – the European agreements have already guaranteed the citizens of the CEECs the right to work. EU citizens are to be free to move anywhere within the expanded EU to look for work.


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error