The category of the least developed countries (LDCs) was established in 1971 as a special group of developing countries characterized by a low level of income and structural impediments to growth and requiring special measures for dealing with those problems. The Committee for Development Planning, the predecessor of the Committee for Development Policy (CDP), was a key actor in the establishment of the LDC category. Since then, CDP has been responsible for identifying which countries should belong to the LDC category. For this purpose, it has developed a rigorous methodology, as detailed in this publication.

-contentType:Journal -contentType:Contributor -contentType:Concept -contentType:Institution
This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error