Whenever the term “ESCWA countries” is used in this Survey, it refers to the member countries of ESCWA excluding Iraq and Palestine, which were omitted from these accounts because of the extreme political instability that they have experienced or insurmountable data problems. Computation of the various resource flows for the 11 remaining ESCWA countries are divided into two groups: the diversified economies (Egypt, Jordan, Lebanon, Oman, the Syrian Arab Republic and Yemen), and the oil-exporting economies (Bahrain, Kuwait, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and United Arab Emirates). Information on financial flows to ESCWA countries is available from national sources, UNCTAD and the following international financial institutions: the Arab Monetary Fund (AMF), the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund (IMF). As can be seen below, there are considerable disparities in data reporting among different countries in the ESCWA region.

Related Subject(s): Economic and Social Development
-contentType:Journal -contentType:Contributor -contentType:Concept -contentType:Institution
This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error