Guatemala is located in Central America, bordering both the Pacific and Atlantic oceans between the Equator and the Tropic of Cancer. It shares borders with Mexico, Belize, El Salvador and Honduras, occupying an overall area of 108,889 square kilometres. Administratively, the country consists of 22 departments with 340 municipalities. The Guatemalan territory is mountainous, with coastal plains in the south, central highlands and northern lowlands. Its geographic location and complex topography provide diverse climatic conditions and vegetation. The range of climatic zones is a source of rich biodiversity and potential for agriculture, forestry and hydropower generation. Located in a highly seismic zone at the meetings point of three tectonic plates – North American, Caribbean and Cocos - the country is highly vulnerable to earthquakes and volcanic eruptions. Guatemala is also vulnerable to extreme events such as hurricanes, floods and landslides.

Sustainable Development Goals:
Countries: Guatemala
-contentType:Journal -contentType:Contributor -contentType:Concept -contentType:Institution
This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error